Saskatchewan Examiner

Thursday, December 7, 2023

Flights from Southern African nations banned by Canada

To tackle the new COVID variant Omicron, which emerged in South Africa, Canada along with other nations across the globe, have restricted travel from the South African nations.

  • International travelers who have visited Southern African nations in the past 14 days, will not be allowed to enter Canada.
  • South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini, and Mozambique, are the nations that have been placed on Canada’s no-fly list.
  • Canada announces ban of flights to and from South African nations till 31st January 2022.
Train used as vaccination centre in East Rand, South Africa
A new version of COVID-19 has emerged in South Africa, which has only 24% of its population, vaccinated.

The Canadian authorities introduced that it’s going to restrict tours to southern Africa, a vicinity that has pronounced instances of a brand new COVID-19 variation of concern.

As of November 26, all overseas nationals who’ve traveled via the seven affected nations withinside the remaining 14 days will now no longer be allowed to go into Canada. The affected countries consist of South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini, and Mozambique.

Canadian residents and permanent citizens may be allowed to go back domestic, however, they may need to fly home indirectly, passing via a 3rd country in which they may additionally want to take a molecular COVID-19 test.

Canada’s fitness minister, Jean-Yves Duclos stated humans already in Canada who traveled withinside the vicinity during the last 2 weeks must get a COVID-19 take a look at and stay in isolation till they get hold of a negative check the result.

Transport Minister Omar Alghabra stated the brand new measures may be in impact till at the least Jan. 31, 2022.

Also, read: New South African COVID variant forces countries to shut the borders

The statement comes after the World Health Organization (WHO) dubbed the brand new COVID-19 strain, additionally referred to as Omicron or B.1.1.529, as a variation of concern. So far, the Omicron variation has been detected in South Africa, Botswana, in addition to Israel, Belgium, and Hong Kong. It has now no longer been located in Canada, in line with Chief Public Health Officer, Theresa Tam.

The transport minister recommended Canadians who’re not able to get domestic because of the regulations touch the emergency watch center.

Countries around the globe are racing to introduce tour bans and regulations on southern African nations to incorporate the brand new Omicron variation of Covid-19.

The actions come after the variation became formally named through fitness officials.

Omicron had many mutations and early proof counseled an expanded reinfection risk, the WHO stated.
Countries that added regulations consist of The UK, Singapore, Australia, USA, Japan, Brazil, Iran, Thailand, and India.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *